First United Methodist Brenhan has a rich and long history of serving Christ in this part of Texas. We have just celebrated our 175th Anniversary as a congregation and with that the highlights of our history was shared with those who attended our celebration including our Bishop Scott Jones, or District Supertindent Wanda Bess and many former pastors who have served this church over the years.
In 1844 a church was organized in a place called Hickory Grove where the city of Brenham is today. It was a church affiliated with what was known as the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. The orginal church building served the congregation until 1879 when a new larger building was constructed.
In 1867 the Methodist Episcopal Church was founded in Texas for both African American and German Methodists. AS a result there was a German cogregation established in Brenham with the understanding that they establish a seminary for German speaking pastors and Blinn Memorial College and 4th Street Methodist Episcopal were estblished in 1883. Over the years the Methodist Episcopal South church bbecame known as Giddings Memorial Methodist Episcopal South. Then in 1838 The 4th Street Church and the Giddings church merged to ulimately become Brenham Methodist Church which was made official in 1939 with the unification of the Methodist denominations.
In 1950 Brenham Methodist Church continued to grow and decided to build a new facility at our current location on North Baylor St and Academy. We late mergered with the united Brethern Church in 1968 to become the United Methodist Church.
The incedible story of our congregation is that we have come together again and again merging with other churches and congregation as we share and experience the love of Christ. Our congregation still 175 years later has that same expression of welcome and acceptance to anyone who would care to join the mission we have all been called to here in this town of Brenham.